[Comphelp] Spam filter?

Jim Williams jwill@voyager.net
Thu, 22 Apr 2004 12:27:58 -0400


ISPs occasionally block mail from specific IP addresses or servers that 
they think might be involved in SPAM or have an open relay.  Usually, the 
mail is blocked in error and a call to the ISP (yours if you are not 
receiving mail) will resolve the problem.  I subscribe to 4 USPS e-mail 
lists.  I was receiving mail from all of them but the IP address used to 
send rosters was blocked by my ISP.  A call resolved the problem, but I 
think ISPs are getting a little cavalier in the way they block messages 
since most of the blocks seem to be without just cause.

At 12:08 PM 4/22/04, you wrote:
>I recently sent an email to our squadron mailing list (phoenix@usps.org) 
>and did not receive a direct copy back.  Instead I received two 
>emails.  One from nullroute@fusemail.com stating that:
>
>"The recipient of the message you recently sent uses a anti-spam blocking 
>system.  We do not have your email address in our database as a human 
>verified sender.
>
>Your email was not delivered to the recipient.  Please verify that you are 
>a human by clicking below.  This is the only time you will be asked to 
>perform this."
>
>And the second from noreply@noreply.org which stated:
>
>"This is a auto reply to the mail you sent  thanks"
>
>The response from noreply included the message I had originally posted.
>
>I checked with other members of my squadron and found out that the orginal 
>message was indeed sent to them from the USPS server.
>
>I am the administrator of the Phoenix SPS mailing list and am subscribed 
>of course.  Question is:  What the devil is going on here?  Is this going 
>to happen to any one of our subscribers that may post a message?
>
>I am the administrator of the D28 mailing list and sent the same message 
>to that list without any problem.
>
>Stf/C Bob Schloeman, JN
>USPS Squadron Activities Committee
>Phoenix Sail & Power Squadron