

GALAXY District 23 NEWSLETTER February 2014 D/C Timothy Henke, JN-CN



By the time that this article is published, The Annual meeting will be just a wonderful memory. The gala that celebrated our 100th year was the biggest bash that we have ever been involved in. Little did our founding fathers ever envision that a group that they founded would grow and prosper for over 100 years.

I would like to thank the members of District 23 that stepped up and lent a helping hand for all of those necessary tasks.

Now, the celebration will continue with our district Spring Conference that will be held by the Gainesville Sail & Power Squadron on March 28–30, 2014. I was just at their COW and they are really fired up for this festive occasion. Come to the inland oasis and take in the "other Florida". They will welcome everyone to this quite comfortable hotel and they have raved in regards to the food that will be provided.

There is still time available, to sign up and I hope to see everyone in Gainesville at the end of March. Don't forget to sign up for the Rain Gutter race event also! Don't Have a registration form, just jump up to our district site: www.uspsd23.org

This year we have made great improvements in running our part, our district, of the entire organization called United States Power Squadrons. I ask that everyone continues this reshaping and refinement, of our district. We have so many great resources that making D23 the best can be a very rewarding task.

As time marches on, so does the business of our District 23. At the Spring Conference, we shall elect the next group of leaders. The Nominating Committee has worked diligently in preparing the following slate:

United States Power Squadrons

District 23

Nominations for 2014 – 2015

Commander		William H. Fehr, N
Executive Officer		Roy Merritt, SN
Education Officer		Michael Scallan, SN
Assistant Education Officer		Ernst Hofmann, JN
Administrative Officer		Dudley (Mark) Adams, SN
Secretary		Kurt Mikat, SN
Treasurer		John Mulkey, AP
Audit Committee	Member 1 year	Clara Ross, SN
	Member 2 years	Alfred J. Fabbrini, SN
	Member 3 years	Paul Reichert, AP
Nominating Comm	Member 1 year	Kermit Forbes, P
	Member 1 year	Jeffrey T. Wise, JN
	Member 2 years	Jeremiah W. Murphy, SN
	Member 2 years	Vicki Aloise, S
	Member 3 years	Vacant TBD
	Member 3 years	Vacant TBD
Rules Committee	Member 1 Year	Joseph W Cartwright, SN
	Member 2 Years	Michael Aloise, JN
	Member 3 years	Elaine Reichert, AP