The United States Power Squadrons   District 1


Boating is fun...
we'll show you how



Home Mission Public Boating Course D-1 Calendar Upcoming Events We had a lot of fun D-1 Squadrons History Bridge National News Sounds of 1 Member Courses Seminars Vessel Safety Check Become a member Links

USPS Website




D/1 has a rich history going back to 25 April, 1914 when our New Haven Squadron was organized. That Squadron has the distinction of being the oldest operating squadron in the USPS. Since then there have been a lot of tide changes and notable events. Our current D/1 Historian Cliff McKibbin, AP has worked up a look at our past through the following timeline:

United States Power Squadrons

History of District 1

The following is a summary of key dates in the founding of District 1 and its local squadrons. This history was summarized in the 1989 75th anniversary booklet.

25 April, 1914 - New Haven Squadron is founded. New Haven is the oldest operating squadron in USPS.

2 June, 1931 - Middletown Squadron is founded.

28 November,1931- Hartford Squadron is founded.

January, 1938 - C/C Wesley E. Morse, N of Hartford (Chief Commander 1937-1938) recommended the setting up of the present district organization and made our District #1.

14 April, 1939 - New London Squadron is founded.

15 April, 1939 - Springfield Squadron is founded.

25 April, 1940 - New Britain Squadron is founded.

30 March, 1946 - R/C Arthur N. Clifton, N of Springfield presided over the annual spring conference that ratified the first district bylaws in the USPS. P/C/C Frederic W. Keator, N of New Haven was chairman of the bylaws committee that developed them.  These bylaws were used as models for other districts.

11 January, 1947 - The National bylaws were changed to rename the “Rear Commander” to “District Commander”.

27 January, 1950 - Westerly Squadron is founded.

6 February, 1953 - Saybrook Squadron is founded.

27 April, 1953 - Norwich Squadron is founded.

2 February, 1954 - Meriden Squadron is founded.

28 February, 1957 - Milford Squadron is founded.

14 January, 1961 - Manchester Squadron is founded.

19 January, 1963 - Waterbury Squadron is founded.


Past Chief Commanders, Rear Commanders, and District Commanders (pdf)

The History of District 1 (pdf)
submitted by P/D/C James E. Coley, JN former D/1 Historian

 History Of The United States Power Squadrons Ensign (pdf)
(by the National Historians Committee, 2004) Compiled by P/D/C James E. Coley, JN, National Historians Committee March 2004


Hartford perspective: This history of Hartford Squadron (pdf)
excerpted from the 75th Anniversary Special Issue of the Bilge Pump of the Hartford Power Squadron.
 This document also includes their historical notes and “Hartford Firsts” from their 75th Anniversary celebration.

Saybrook perspective: History of D/1 and Saybrook Squadron (pdf)
(as posted to the Saybrook web site - and used by permission of Saybrook Cdr. Lynn Billings-Thomas).
Saybrook Webmaster Keith Doucette
reports that this was read at a Saybrook Founders Day event by P/C Frank Gossett, and was probably written by him



USPS Disclaimer Statement

USPS Privacy Statement

USPS Trademarks Statement

Last modified:  03/31/2019                                                  Website Administrator: Chris -